Italy Part III: Rome and Pisa

Last 2 cities we visited in Italy!! Travelled from Tuscany to Rome first thing in the morning to visit the Colosseum :)

IMG_1491
IMG_1513
IMG_1531
‘Eh Nat help me take profile pic!!’ – what I spent half my trip doing haha………

The Colosseum reminded me of Angkor Wat, although it was built muchhhhh earlier. Everything looked like it was gonna fall apart but it was really grand and not to mention how small it made me feel haha
IMG_1532-001
IMG_1540
IMG_1541
IMG_1543
IMG_1552
Model model
IMG_1557
IMG_1561

St Peter’s Bascilla in the Vatican City!
Almost gave up queuing because our tour guide told us that we’d have to queue for more than an hour.. Plus I had cramps & was feeling rly uncomfortable, but decided that I had to go in since we were there on holiday anyway and I wouldn’t wanna waste time resting at a cafe so we just queued while my family listened to me groan and moan while waiting for the pink pills to take effect haha love themmm.

IMG_1590
IMG_1600
IMG_1602
Look at dat queue – just for a security check before queuing some more to enter the actual place. Imo the queue was worth it though, was so awed at the sheer detail of everything in the church, and the sanctity of it all

IMG_1606
IMG_1612

IMG_1622
Inside
IMG_1627
IMG_1646
IMG_1647
IMG_1649
IMG_1657
Confessions booth!

IMG_1660
List of all the popes in history

IMG_1661
Looks like a painting from far

IMG_1662
But REALLY a mosaic. Look at all the tiny squares OMG

IMG_1677
Less than half the number of seats there :o
IMG_1683
IMG_1700
IMG_1703
Skipped the Sistine Chapel (I know.. :'( It wasn’t included in the tour, meh) & went to the Trevi Fountain next! Didn’t bother making a wish because I wanted some gelato HAHA what a pig. In my defence it was really sunny that day, perf weather for ice cream heh

Travelled to Pisa next and our hotel was just a 5 min walk away from the Leaning Tower of Pisa!! Wanted to rush there after checking in but the hotel only had one lift so we had to carry the luggages up + there was some problem with the room allocation so by the time we got there it was already dark but we were still super excited LOL
IMG_1727
And…. you know what followed ;) Us being really touristy & helping one another take forced perspective shots hahahaha had a lot of fun laughing at the failed ones and my family’s facial expressions
IMG_1716
IMG_1715
IMG_1733
IMG_1735
HAHA this picture.. I can’t even
IMG_1737
IMG_1740
These are already the more presentable ones hahahah

The next morning.. before we left Pisa
IMG_1743
IMG_1751
Straight tower/ Leaning tower just because of how we held the camera haha somehow irl it looks A LOT more slanted but when we took pictures it didn’t really show so we spent a while trying to angle it right

IMG_1756
IMG_1760
The field of miracles – bell tower (leaning tower), cathedral & the baptistery

IMG_1761
Last photo in Pisa!!
IMG_1765
Yeah I imagined this shot to look prettier too but LOL nope reality hurts I look like a cross between a pufferfish and a kid

IMG_1772
IMG_1814
Sorry I just can’t get enough of the dandelions – found a bunch of them when we were at a highway stop in Italy, on our way to Switzerland! Spent a few hours on the bus listening to my happy europe playlist & journalling – if only that kind of life could last forever

Happy Father’s Day to my papaaaa spent the whole day with my family: dimsum buffet brunch + Man of Steel + walking around + dinner haha gosh what a loooong day can’t wait to crash already!! Have been out a lot lately & hope I get some time next week to myself before the CSC camp & driving lessons start & the NUSSU camp~ Quite bummed that I had to miss the FASS camp which is ongoing now, but hopefully these two camps will make up for it? Anyway, rly looking forward to the week ahead ^_^ & doubt the Switz post will be coming anytime soon :/

Leave a Reply

