Fear

So my mum was telling me about my cousin who is terrified of the dark and how she used to make me watch horror movies. She said that she was trying to make me a brave girl. LOL sorry mum it didn’t work. Then I started to wonder – is fear really innate? Were we born to fear the unknown or were we simply taught to? Why are some people even homophobic? Why do people crave the thrill of rollercoaster while others would rather die than to get on the ride? Why am I so terrified of lizards when I used to cut off their tails O_O Omg don’t judge. Is fear God-given, so that we would know what we can’t control and that everything is in His hands? Is it a protective instinct that is inborn? To fear anything – do we have to actually experience the pain of it? Guess not. Fear is a manifestation of our imagination, and through learning about the experiences of others, and then multiplying and magnifying the consequences in our head. I remember when I was still a toddler, my dad would lift me up high in the air and pretend to drop me haha I was genuinely scared. Though I did kind of like the thrill. I used to laugh all the time when he did that, even though I’d be terrified at the same time. Maybe because I know he’d always catch me – but still, the fear was there. Why? How? Someone answer my questions!! Haha okay this is why I want to study psych actually. I have so much more to find out about myself, the human condition, and everything else! So excited to find out more :D

Found a quote online which is pretty interesting though – “Love is what we are born with. Fear is what we learn. The spiritual journey is the unlearning of fear and prejudices and the acceptance of love back in our hearts. Love is the essential reality and our purpose on earth. To be consciously aware of it, to experience love in ourselves and others, is the meaning of life. Meaning does not lie in things. Meaning lies in us.” – Marianne Williamson

Oh well I’ll find time to read up more next week.

Moving on.

I want to see Ingrid Michaelson live in Singapore so badly…… But 1) She’s coming on the 10th of September, which falls on the first day of prelims. As much as I didn’t regret going to see Kina Grannis the day before History and Math exams earlier this March, I am not prepared to risk my prelim grades, which might possibly be more important than the actual A-levels in terms of overseas applications. And 2) I don’t think I know anyone who likes her like I do!! Haha she’s so underrated. 2’s not a problem since I’m not even going lol -_- Watching her live performances on youtube while studying for lit to comfort myself. Her voice just makes me wanna cuddle up in my blanket with the air-con on and just read a book or think about life hahaha

She’s so cuuuuute

: ( Hope she comes next year

Things to look forward to:

1) Carnivore on Friday! WOOOSH FINALLY+ Prometheus maybe?
2) The Amazing Spider-Man with 4L babes
3) Vienna with bridesmaids!!! (+ cycling? hahaha)
4) Shopping wahahaah GSS here I come
5) Wanna find a day to just read at Starbucks, sippin my tea and all

Psh look at me, acting as though As are already over. Well the end of a month of studying does call for a celebration, no? Okay I’m left with about 7 more essays to write over the next 2 days, I’m actually used to it, and fine with writing essays! Just as long as I have content to write, of which I am sorely lacking…..

Speaking of which have to familiarise myself with the lit texts now, buhbyeeeeee

2 thoughts on “Fear

Leave a Reply

