Bound for Discovery, Changed for life

Gonna pen down my thoughts first before going into the details because details can be the same, but the feelings are unique to everyone :) Seriously, what is it about OBS that changes something in you? The shit we go through as a class, the bad hygiene conditions, the insructors who never scold you but guide you, the encouragement from your fellow classmates, etc? I have no idea how it can be so powerful but I really feel something in me changed, the way I look at people and things now and even the way I look at my life and how lucky I am. I really like the ‘I wish you enough’ story that Instructor Shee Mun shared with all of us because it’s damn meaningful! Sometimes when we have too much of something we tend to subconsciously take them for granted, and if only we just have enough of everything to get through life we’d all be so contented and happy ^^

Because OBS was so physically and mentally demanding I really felt that I’ve grown a lot and it’s heartening to see 4L grow so much together too! Sometimes it really isn’t about having fun, you can have fun with anybody but it’s through the hardcore stuff that we go through everyday – unpitching tents in the rain, climbing to the top of the steep hill in the pitch dark night to sleep, kakaying for 8 hours and challenging our strength, all having rashes and patting each others back – that we really bond and support and encourage each other to get through it all :) Before going to this camp I really thought I wouldn’t survive and halfway through the camp I really felt like I couldn’t carry on but well we all did and I’m so so so so proud of us 4L :) & it kinda forces you to be more self aware and how you can change yourself and after doing the trust fall I’m really really determined to work towards my goals :D

WASHINGTON (L) I’m really grateful for everyone in my watch and how we all get along so well I totally see everyone in a different light now! Elaine for being such an encouraging kayaking partner who went crazy with me singing random songs and for being so funny (peeing LOL), Amanda Chia for forever being such a dear supporting everyone through the kayakng and everything else, Amanda Cheng for complaining about stuff with me and for laughing about stupid stuff hehehe, Sim Lin for being a great groupmate and asking me if my rashes were okay and all, Xin Tian the kuku woman who endured the rashes together with me and for patting my back whenever I itched LOL and for carrying all the stuff and being a great leader and being crazy with me waltzing and singing ‘butterfly’, Sophin for being so encouraging and going crazy with the kuku torchlight and for doing weird stuff to me at night (HAHA sounds so wrong), Tingyu for accompanying me to wash hair at the washing point every day and being an awesome tent mate hahaha so glad I got to know you more, Weixin for being a great tent mate and forever helping me with stuff and giving your all for the team even though we were sick :(, Huiting for being a naggy ahma  lol and helping me apply powder and lending me your towel you are the best mum haha, Shujun for helping me find me specs when some weirdo threw it into the food bin (o_o) really appreciated it hehe, Gerald for being the most gentlemanly helping out with everything taking care of the girls and encouraging us all! :D

I really understand why sometimess less is more. OBS!!! (L) Btw here’s part of the story!

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright no matter how gray the day may appear.
I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun even more.
I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive & everlasting.
I wish you enough pain so that even the smallest of joys in life may appear bigger.
I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I wish you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.

2 thoughts on “Bound for Discovery, Changed for life

  1. Yes (L) obs!!!! And Elaine peeing hahahhaha!!! But alamak la you, the “went for CIP @ Simei centre” spoilt the story hahahah :)

Leave a Reply

